Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Title: Insurgent (Divergent #2)
Author: Veronica Roth
Format: Paperback (Owned)
Source: Book Depository
Summary: One choice can transform you, or destroy you.
Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.


My thoughts: “Ahhhhhh” thats all that i can think of this book. The twists are just so carefully written to near perfection. Throughout the book, I felt that I could relate to the characters better this time round compared to Divergent. At times, I realized that my heart was racing, me flipping throught the pages at a quicker pace and sometimes skipping some of the words. It is so AMAZING!!! I really love the quote at the front of the book. “Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.”  This phrase is spot on to sum up how Tris is in this book. She can’t be contained. She’s surging with energy within her although physically she’s hurt so badly. I also really loved the part when Tobias (Four) tended to her wounds. They are so sweet together. Then there was this really touching conversation between both of them that brought me to the brink of tears. 
“I’ll be your family now,” he says.
“I love you,” I say.

I said that once, before I went to Erudite headquarters, but he was asleep then. I don’t know why I didn’t say it when he could hear it. Maybe I was afraid to trust him with something so personal as my devotion. Or afraid that I did not know what it was to love someone. But now I think the scary thing was not saying it before it was almost too late. Not saying it before it was almost too late for me.

I am his, and he is mine, and it has been that way all along.

He stares at me. I wait with my hands clutching his arms for stability as he considers his response.

He frowns at me. “Say it again.”

“Tobias,” I say, “I love you.”

His skin is slippery with water and he smells like sweat and my shirt sticks to his arms when he slides them around me. He presses his face to my neck and kisses me right above the collarbone, kisses my cheek, kisses my lips.

“I love you, too,” he says.” 

“Gaaah” there’s just too many memorable parts in this book. Also there is this part when they were talking about how Abnegation have children made me laugh my head off. “Whoa there, Tobias,” says the man to my left. “Weren’t you raised a Stiff? I thought the most you people did was… graze hands or something.”

“Then how do you explain all the Abnegation children?” Tobias raises his eyebrows.
“They are brought into being by sheer force of will,” the woman on the arm of the chair interjects. “Didn’t you know that, Tobias?”
“No, I wasn’t aware.” He grins. “My apologies.” 


Of course there are more to it. I’m looking forward to reading Allegiant and have recently per-ordered it at Book Depository.  Or i you haven’t started reading this amazing series and have none of the books get a box set at Book Depository

Rating wise, i would give it a 5. Though some people say not everything is perfect in this world, but to me this is perfection. I’ll be moving on to  the next book as soon as in the process of treating my hangover of this book. See you soon in my next blog post.


Leave a Reply

