Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon Update #1

11th September 2013 (Wednesday)
Books currently reading: Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Delirium (Delirium, #1)
Okay, so its been a few hours after I’ve signed up for the Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon and I would like to say that I’ve got hold of a copy of Delirium from the library and I’m just getting started. I know its kinda late for me to get started on this hyped series. You must be wondering why I didn’t get hyped despite the fact that people around me keep talking about it. It just doesn’t appeal to me as much as to the other people who have read it. When i read the blurb of it, I was thinking “Seriously, talking about love as a disease?” I mean Lauren Oliver taking on such a controversial topic. I distanced myself from this book knowing how i hate how small minded the society are in dystopian books. As i encountered it when i read Eve by Anna Carey and Matched by Ally Condie. However, after reading Divergent and Insurgent, my view towards small minded dystopian societies are and hence urging me to give the Delirium series a chance. And good thing after a few chapters, i got sucked into the book. I really loved the epigraphs at the start of each chapter. It gives us a brief description of the society there. This makes up for most of the world building. I would say it was smart of her to do that as expressing one’s imagination of their own created world is challenging as it needs to be coherently phrased and yet capture as many aspects of it at the same time. And yay i did read 250 pages today which means I’ve met my goal and tomorrow, I’ll clock another 250 or more. 
Leave a Reply

