Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium (Delirium, #1)Title: Delirium (Delirium #1)
Author: Lauren Oliver
Format: Paperback (HarperCollins, Borrowed)
Find it on: GoodreadsBook Depository
Summary: Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t. (Goodreads) 

My thoughts: All i can say is AMAZING. I regretted not reading this book earlier and not getting hype despite the hype. When i read the summary, all I can think on is how is Lauren Oliver going to tackle the topic of love is dangerous. Immediately, i start throwing all sorts of possible questions to attack it and even stereotyped Lauren Oliver as a wannabe tackling tough and controversial topics and in the end still fail but book gets published category. But i was wrong, the book proved to me that I’m wrong. It wasn’t the people who hyped about it or reviewed it as a great book. I’m not saying that their reviews aren;t good but they just didn’t give me the push to want to read it immediately until I told myself to give the book a chance. And it was worth my time. It was also a very fast paced read for me. I like the writing Lauren Oliver uses as its just so beautiful. Throughout the book, we see a lot of character development for Lena. From being a timid girl who will abide the rules to somebody who’s willing to go against the society. Yes, its a great transition but not a instant one. It progresses throughout the book and it seems pretty natural. I have the next book Pandemonium next to me so I’m gonna jump right in without hesitation.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars


One thought on “Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in YA | Lil' Book Owl

Leave a Reply

