This Week in Buddy/ Group Reading [1]

Are any of you familiar with the term Buddy Reading? Some yes some no. Well go check out the groups in Goodreads and you’ll know how it works. It took me quite a while to figure how things work. SInce the Books of the month for each group differs and sad to say not really of my liking, I turned to buddy reading. There is a group designed just for buddy reading called YA Buddy Readers’ Corner (here’s the link) It was so fun getting to meet new people and meeting people who wants to read the same book as you. Plus we get to discuss when we want to read and also set the pace. This whole planning and interacting is just so fun. For this to work, you first need a Goodreads account and a mmber of this group in order to post comments. So this week I’ve joined 3 buddy reads.

1. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (26/9)
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)Summary: Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.



So if your interested and wants to join this buddy read, here is link to the discussion thread.


————————————————————————————————————

2. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa (26/9)
The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, #1)Summary: To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness…

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for… again.

Enter Julie Kagawa’s dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins.

So if your interested and wants to join this buddy read, here is the link to the discussion thread. 

————————————————————————————————————
3. The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe (28/9)
The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark, #1) Summary: For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
 
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 
 
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.
 
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
 
Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
 
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

Praise for The Sweetest Dark
  
“A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage—and dragons . . . I was enchanted.”—Melissa Marr, New York Timesbestselling author of Wicked Lovely
 
“Abé creates a rich and refreshing world.”—RT Book Reviews (four stars)
 
“Abe’s writing is both elegant and beautiful . . . The Sweetest Dark is the perfect fantasy read.”—Badass Book Reviews
 
“Strong and spellbinding.”—Genre Go Round Reviews (Goodreads)


So if your interested and wants to join this buddy read, here is link to the discussion thread. 

There are many more buddy reads going on this week, so head to the group’s page here to check them out.  And yes I’ll be reviewing all of these books. I’ll try to get involved in at least one buddy read every week. Leave your comments below and tell me what do you think of this new feature and also what books would you like to read if you had a buddy.  

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s