Review: The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

Title: The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark #1)
Author: Shana Abe
Format: Hardback (Bantam | Borrowed)
Find it on: Goodreads here and Book Deporsitory here
Summary (Goodreads): For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
 
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 
 
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.
 
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
 
Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
 
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.


My thoughts: When it said for fans of Lauren Kate, I immediately picked up this book. Ended up I didn’t finish it. Why? Things slowed downed in the middle which made me loose interest in it. It was refreshing as it was the first time I’m reading about dragons and its set in during World War I (I think) and I love historical fiction. I loved have Shana described the setting. It seems so surreal to me. The book was okay just that I was a little slow for my liking. Our girl Lora, she’s not stuck up and she knows what to do. Not like stupid delusional Meagan in the Iron King. Hello at least this girls  tries to fit in. So Lora can hear music coming from gems and metals and with the tune coming form them, she’s able to play those tunes on the piano which makes her a prodigy. I want that ability. I’m so envious. She too can paranormal hearing sense. She can hear the bombs from the mainland even though she was a few hundred miles away from it. Then there’s Armand. I fell for him. He’s just so charming. Although Lora does not come from a prestigious family, he gives her the same respect as them. In those ages, I bet its hard to find such guys since their parents are also that way. Overall, its okay. I wished it was more fast paced and maybe I’ll try to finish this book if I have the time. It’s a pity I didn’t get to finish this book.

Rating: 2/5 stars
Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s