Review: Obisidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Paperback (Entangled Teen | Owned)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads): Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Thoughts: This is my first time reading books about aliens. I’m not the type of people who’s really into aliens as I find it a genre that is hard to like but OMG I dont know where to start off but the main thing is the author did it the way that make me like the genre more and I’m now going to read books that has outer space (eg Across the Universe series). SO and another niche point about this book is our girl, Katy, she is a book reviewer and that instantly made me be able to relate to her.But I’m glad the author didn’t just state the fact but also shows it, through the weekly book memes she post like most of us book reviewers do and how she went gaga over the books she received in her main (like us ). This part is done so well. Now moving on to the aliens part. So we have our male lead Daemon who is a Luxen he comes from the planet Lux and the reason he is on Earth was that their neighbors (from another plant) was on war with them and their home is destroyed. SO who are these bad guys well they are the Arum. So the Luxen are so-called the children of light and the Arum are the opposite and they are the children of shadows. So the Luxen is stronger in the day and the Arum at night. So far during Daemon and Dee’s stay on Earth no humans other than the (DOD a government board that is in charge of them) knew about their existence or even their powers except the rumors that was spread around the people in that particular town. And Arum being pesky little creatures followed the Luxen to Earth. Why? Cause they wanted the power from the Luxen which they didn’t possess. And through a series of events, Katy was caught in between the war among the Luxen and Arum.

Rating: 5/5 stars (really loved it)

Spoiler section:

I really like Katy’s stubborness, the way she tried to lie to Daemon but failed (it’s just so funny) I mean it would be rather sad if there weren’t any humor in this book. Things started to pick up in the last few chapters when Katy was a “glowing lightbulb” and the Luxen had to find ways to tone down her brightness such that it wouldn’t attract the Arum. And what they decided to do was just so impromptu (maybe Daemon wanted to kiss her badly) I just can’t get enough of this series and I need the second badly.

Leave a Reply

