Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Review

Alice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

Title: Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1)

Author: Gena Showalter

Format: Paperback (HarelquinTeen | Owned)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads): She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

My Thoughts: After reading Cinder and Scarlet both by Marissa Meyer I was starting to enjoy fairy-tale retellings and the title of this book is so cool. Alice in Wonderland meets Zombies and the zombies in this book are one of its kind. So the zombies in this book are created by the transmission of the disease when a zombie bites a human and if the human is not cured with an antidote within 24 hours, he/she will turn into a zombie. Sounds like our average zombie. But wait we have our zombie-slayers. After the death of Alice’s parents and sister, she moved in with her grandparents into another town and there’s when she realized that her dad was not crazy after all and she begins to see Zombies. And she met our bad-ass male protagonist – Cole and when they stare at each other, they get sightings of the future and that really spooked both of them. They were wary of each other at first but as Alice finds out more about the Zombies, she gets to know Cole better since he’s the zombie-slayer. Things star t to pick off from there and this book is a page turner and I finished it in like 3 or 4 days cause I still have school in the day and that left me like 3 -4 hours of reading time (sometimes even less) So if you liked Cinder and Scarlet you would love this book too. I plan to read the second – Through the Zombie Glass before the third and final book The Queen of Zombie Hearts is released this year on the 30th of September (expected date).

Rating: 4/5 stars

Spoilers

What I enjoyed in this book: Though the beginning sounds like Twilight but the rest of the story it was unlike any other book. Alice has a balance between her girlfriends and her Zombie hunting mission and the way she pulled it off was just neat. And she’s such a kick-butt character. I love how my female characters are independent. And there were ample humorous and witty scenes in this book which made it so good to read. I like humour in my books. Let’s not forget about the writing. The writing style here, it’s beautiful really loved the words she used for her description.

What I didn’t really liked:

The pacing it was sometimes slow and sometimes fast which kinds of annoy me. And for the slow parts, I felt that the author should make it more interesting like anticipating an event before the fast part comes in.

Leave a Reply

