Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in YA

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish

So this week’s top ten is all time favourite books in X genre. The genre that I chose is YA so lets get to it:

In no particular order

1. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)

Why?

I really loved this book because it’s a book that deals with rather dark topics like mental health and though its the first in the series, I’m already loving it and cant wait to read the next two books. Check out my review of this book here

 

 

 

2. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

Why?

I have rarely read books on aliens or outer space but this book made me change my perception towards aliens and I find it a very nice and fluffy read. And I recently finished watching this korean drama: My love from Another Star. The male protagonist is also a alien but there’s no war between the aliens. Check out my review here.

3. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium (Delirium, #1)

This dystopian series deals with love and it’s something new. But what really made it my all-time favorite was Lauren Oliver was able to approach this topic well. And i really love the little quotes she put at the front of each chapter. It really keeps me wanting to know what’s the next. Check out my review here.

 

4. Legend by Lauren Oliver

Legend (Legend, #1)

I really liked the plot of how this book went and it was also my first time reading a book about girls in the military. The plot was full of suspense and adventure and the alternating POV really made the plot so much fuller. I have yet to read the second and third book and hope to get to them soon. Check out my review here.

5. Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1)

This was the first steampunk book that I managed to finish reading and also made me want to read more of such books. Zombies and Steampunk? Such a great combination. Also with necromancy involved. It is  close to the perfect book in my dreams. It covers such dark topics, its just too irresistible.

6. Die for me by Amy Plum

Die for Me (Revenants, #1)

Another book on zombies but this time round, the zombies are sort of like guardian angel and they save people from unnatural death causes like suicide. And of course there are the bad ones who will want to purposely lead innocent people into their own death. It is such a beautiful book. What better is that it is set in Paris. Check out my review here.

7. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)

Probably one of my most favorite angel book. It’s just too perfect for me. I think. I really like the whole, half angel, quarter angel concept. It just seems soo cool. The love triangle I mean it’s just too hard for me to take sides cause both guys are equally good. And it’s just so frustrating. Check out my review here.

8. Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)

Another angel book but this time we got that bad boy. He’s cute also and I find it something like Obsidian. A very nice fluffy read with little humor here and there. It would be the kind of book I would read if I want something happy. Check out my review here.

9. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)

This book is by far one of my most favorite book in the Mortal Instruments series. It has sad times, happy times all in it. And I find the plot to be rather rich. I need to read the rest soon. Check out my review here.

10. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)

In my opinion, I like this book way better than the Divergent series because it’s not lengthy and it just full of action. I really they made this into a motion picture. I like the characters here way more than the ones in Divergent. The plot, I can see there’s a direction an what’s more is that how each characters somehow fit into one another like a jigsaw puzzle.  It just seems so seamless to me. Really can’t wait to get the thid one already.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in YA

  1. I just read the first two Mara Dyer books and I absolutely engulfed them! I couldn’t stop reading. It was AMAZING. So compelling. I was a little worried about the mental health stigma going on, like if-I’m-diagnosed-with-schizophrenia-I-can-never-go-to-college (bull), but still loved the books!

  2. I agree with so many of your choices, especially Mara Dyer and Under the Never Sky. They were both so awesome! I still need to read Something Strange and Deadly though, it looks so good.

  3. I completely agree with The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Under the never sky and Obsidian! They are all so unique .. I have recommended them like crazy. As for the others.. I couldn’t really get into Unearthly or The Mortal instruments :/ but I’m one of the rare few that didn’t love them… The rest I haven’t read yet but they are on my TBR! 😀 Here is our Top Ten Tuesday

  4. Pingback: Lil' Book Owl

Leave a Reply

