Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Review

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)Title: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Format: Hardback (Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)  | Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads):

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance.

My Thoughts:

The Plot:

I seldom read high fantasy books and I guess I really love this genre. The world that Leigh Bardugo created was just so magical and fairy-tale like. The starting was kind of hazy and I didn’t know my bearings well until we got to the part where Alina was being questioned and when The Darkling has confirmed her powers and she was on her way to the Little Palace. It was then I got to understand Alina’s world and was able to keep up with the pace. Her life was just filled with so much twist and turns and adventure. It was difficult for me to set it down. I’m so hyped to read the second and third book in this series.

The Characters:

I guess we have pretty interesting characters here. We have Alina who’s not really confident of her magical powers and she’s not girly either. She’s also unlike the other Grisha girls mainly cause her powers were noticed recently and was not brought up in the Little Palace. Then we have the Darkling. I find him disgusting and someone who has no sense of shame. I guess. It totally grossed me out when he kissed Alina he’s a hundred more years older than Alina. That part sparked off my hatred for him. Then we have Mal who did not give up on Alina despite her being the Grisha and becoming the Darkling’s favourite. I guess he really knows that deep down the old Alina. I’m rather envious about Alina’s and Mal’s friendship and I guess throughout this series their relationship might take a step further or maybe deepen.

The Writing:

It’s just so descriptive and there were some parts that made me laugh. This book has moments that made me happy and angry at times. I just can’t get enough of this series. I guess that the books that I read recently, I rated them at 4 or 4.5 stars. I wonder if I can keep up with this.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

One thought on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March Reads and April TBR | Lil' Book Owl

Leave a Reply

