Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish

So this week’s question is an interesting one. SO the list could be a mix of a books that got you into reading, an author that got you into reading a genre you never thought you’d read, a book that brought you BACK into read. I don’t exactly have 10 but here’s my list

1. Sci-fi

During my early stages of reading, Sci-fi is not a genre for me until dystopia became such a huge bang and most of them contains sci-fi in them. So the first dystopian novel I read was Divergent by Veronica Roth and since I’m new to such genre it was 3/5 stars for me. As I started reading more of such books, I grew to love it.

2. Aliens

So after some exposure to sci-fi I decided to be a little more daring and I picked up Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Its now my fav series and I’m looking forward to reading the Across The Universe series by Beth Revis. So I’m really glad the Jennifer L. Arementout wrote the book in such a manner it appealed to me.

3. Fairy tale Re-tellings

I was introduced to this amazing genre by Marissa Meyer. I have never once thought of reading books of such genre as I thought it would change my perception of the original story. But I was wrong. She wrote the Lunar Chronicles series. Though I had problems with the Main Characters, I loved the writing, the plot and the world the book was set in. The other author that grew my love for this genre was Gena Showalter who wrote The White Rabbit Chronicles series.

4. Steampunk

Steampunk is another genre I stay away from. My initial reaction towards this genre was machines and Physics. I had a bad experience with this genre when I read the girl in steel corset by Kady Cross as I did not get what was going on and I did not finish reading the book. So what sparked my love for this genre was after reading Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard. I guess due to exposure, I was able to understand the world set in the book better.

5. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

I had a reading slum when project deadlines and exam were nearing. SO reading then totally ceased. And when my holidays started, the first book I picked was Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi and that book got the ball rolling and I’m reading as usual. As if that slum did not happen.

6. Novels containing dark topics

I have never thought about reading books that talked about psychological problems, or suicide or dark themes. But when I read Michelle Hodkin’s Mara Dyer series, I loved it. So I might try reading books like Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Leave a Reply

