Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Review

 

Onyx (Lux, #2)Title: Onyx (Lux #2)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Paperback (Entangled Teen | Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads):

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

My Thoughts:

The Plot:

There is a great improvement in the plot from the first book to the second and this time it is much more richer and more exciting.  When Daemon healed Kat in the previous book, it kind of had an effect on Kat and she was mutated. So she’s now half alien half human and since neither does the Luxen know much about mutated humans, there were as clueless as Kat herself. Then Blake comes in and answers most of their questions. He also starts training Kat to control her powers and keep them in check. The parts I laughed at were the ones where Daemon was sarcastic to Blake and he Daemon either seems not to remember Blake’s name and call him others as long as it starts with a “B” and it’s a guy’s name. So the first part of the book was rather lively and we were at the joking stage. Then as things starts to get complicated with Blake hiding truths or going around telling lies to Kat and Daemon, things starts to get intense and we saw Blake’s true colours. Things started unveiling and these new information did not come in a huge chunk but bit by bit so it was not overwhelming and digestible.  Nearing to the end of the book where I thought that things are going to cool down but in came a plot twist and things started to escalate. So yup I really have high hopes for Opal and I’m going to read it like after I’m finished with this review.

The Characters:

I guess Kat and Daemon grew more in terms of character in this book. When Blake came into the picture I was not too happy about it. He’s actions were very forthcoming and kind of direct when he showed signs that he like Kat. So I had a suspicion that Blake is a hiding something and he needs to get close to Kat or the Blacks. Right from the start I had a bad impression of him. Then we have Kat’s mom’s “boyfriend”, Will. He’s actions were also like Blake. Forthcoming and direct. But I did not see the connection between these two until when Will shot Kat a look that kind of says “You better watch out.” After the plot twist, my perception of Will becomes Sick Middle Aged Man. Yup at first he seems like Kat’s prospective stepdad, then he became the Wolf who had sheep skin on. It’s like he got so many layers of evilness in him and under the Sick Middle Aged Man what evilness lurk beneath.

The Writing:

I love Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing. I kind of like how the plot generally progress. The starting is light and funny. Then it progresses to intense and exciting. However in most books, the light and funny part is generally much smaller compared to the intense and exciting part. Her’s seem to have a balance between the two and I find that it’s good.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

One thought on “Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Wrap it up Lil Book Owl [1] | Lil' Book Owl

Leave a Reply

