Review: Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Review

Opal (Lux, #3)Title: Opal (Lux #3)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Paperback (Entangled Teen | Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads):

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

 

My thoughts:

The Plot:

So it begins immediately from where Onyx left us and that’s after the death of Adam, Dee’s and Kat’s friendship starting to turn sour and Will wanting to be mutated but whether Daemon successfully mutated him or not is a big question left behind and it’s answered in this book. So with Dawson back in their lives, he’s just simply bonkers and he’s every time running off to someplace to find Beth. I kind of felt sad that he did not realise how crazy he’s actions were and in his mind he only thinks of Beth.  When Dawson ran off again and Daemon got a call from Dee in the middle of his date with Kat and he has to go and find Dawson.  Despite Daemon telling Kat to head straight home she went to look for them and she somehow struck a deal with Dawson saying that she will help him find Beth and he needs to maintain himself and stop running off. I think that was very quick witted of her and although Daemon said her idea won’t work. A few days later Blake appear before them and he also has something to offer which is he knows where are Chris’ and Beth’s whereabouts and he’s willing to help them since he wants to get Chris out. His behaviour is somewhat like Dawson’s but not as destructive as Dawson’s as he still plans. At first I thought that this whole plan is going to work but it failed as the compound has Onyx injected into the air in there. So to Luxen and hybrids, Onyx is their weak point and that prevented their success. Overall I really enjoyed the book and it was such a rollercoaster as you can see from what I wrote earlier. And the rest of the book was somewhere along that line. And we were left with a freaking cliff-hanger. Luckily I got the next book Origin with me and I can read.

The Characters:

When Dee was ignoring Kat, I kind of felt that Dee was going a little too harsh on Kat. It was not Kat’s intention to not trust Dee and keep things for her. Kat was also in a situation where she felt that she should not hurt Dee or get her involved. I was glad that they made up with each other and things weren’t as tensed as before. Daemon’s and Kat’s relationship took a step further in this book and I felt happy for them. Finally these two are getting together but that was short-lived and that was really really heart-breaking.  As for Blake, I guess he knows that he’s annoying and stuff but he really should know he’s boundaries and not stepping over it. Due to his actions he’s more of Kat’s stalker than admirer. Ughh. I can’t imagine he came into Kat’s room and slept beside her.

The writing:

Ahhh this book made me laugh and it also made me feel sad. I really love Jennifer L.Armentrout’s writing. Once in a while she will breathe in some humour into the book and I really like that fact. Though everyone is stressed when things were not going well, somehow someone will bring in humour and I guess my spirits were uplifted a little.

Rating: 5/5 stars

One thought on “Review: Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Wrap it up Lil Book Owl [1] | Lil' Book Owl

Leave a Reply

