Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Review

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)Title: Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days #1)

Author: Susan Ee

Format: Paperback (Amazon Childrens Publishing | Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads):

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

 

 

My Thoughts:

The Plot:

It was amazing and its my first time reading an Angel Apocalyptic book and there were parts where it was really gory or creepy. Especially the part where Susan Ee mentioned about Scorpion Angels and the cannibal children. It was gory and creepy yet haunting at the same time. And this thought came to me. What if this book were to become a movie I’m pretty sure the above creatures will scare the hell outta me. Other than that, the book was fast paced and I finished it in a few sittings and I did not even notice how much time passed when I read this book. The whole situation is very hazy and it was puzzling that the Angels themselves do not know why they raged war on humans. That’s the big question and I doubt it would be revealed in full to us in the next book as there are 5 books (if I’m not wrong) in this series.

The Characters:

The characters here are so amazing. There’s Obi who I assumed would behave like any gangster boss would like beat their prisoners inhumanly. What surprised me was that yes he questioned them but he did not use any means of torture to get answers from them and he also serves Penryn and Raffe stew. I can’t believe it and I doubt he was that nice but he really is. I guess he’s doing so, because he still need people for his upcoming resistance. There’s Penryn’s mom. I can’t put a word to her. Most of the time she’s speaking in a language only she knows and she’s speaking to God or her actions just show us that she’s not mentally sound. The only time she was sound to me was when she spoke to Penryn before she goes to the basement hoping to find Paige. I really admire the sisterly love Penryn have for Paige. Penryn would do anything to save her and she almost did things rashly until Raffe brought her back to reality. Although Raffe can be a jerk at times but I guess he really cares for her and he’s not as inhumane as the other Angels who goes around destroying Earth. There’s Dee and Dum the twins and their names might suggest that they are really innocent or just pure dumb I don’t know which. Their actions also back at the camp. I guess they play really good spies. I guess people will just laugh at their names and not take them seriously. They were acting as servants at the aerie. Its a hotel where Angels occupy and make it their own. Dee and Dum were trying to get information from the Angels one way or another so that Obi knows what to plan for the day of the resistance.

The Writing:

I’m not used to Susan Ee’s writing style and that placed me at the disadvantage as there were parts I was just skimming through and very little information was registered in me. I had to go back and read again which is kind of painful as I want to know what will happen next. Luckily these parts are the not so important parts. I really tried to read the book without any difficulty and trying to adapt her writing style but its going to take time.

Rating: 5/5 stars

One thought on “Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

