Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Review

descriptionTitle: Shatter Me(Shatter Me #1)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Format: E-book (HarperCollins| Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads):

“You can’t touch me,” I whisper.

I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him.

He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans on her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

 

 

My Thoughts:

Why did I pick this book:

It was mentioned, raved and hyped and I want to see what caused the rave and hype. And since I’m always procrastinating my books and one of the Goodreads groups that I’m in is doing a group read for this book and I signed myself up for it. Overall I’m quite satisfied with the book and I’m so glad I do not have to classify it under “over-rated hyped books” .  So let’s get on with the discussion and my thoughts of the book itself.

The Plot:

Let’s talk about the good stuff. It was action-packed. However, we knew little of the world outside. What was happening with the Reestablishment in control. Since our heroine is locked up in a mental institution, news of the world outside don’t really get to her. Her parents regard her as an abomination. However, she does not seem that bored inside her cell as she has a notebook with her and she pens down her thoughts. And then Adam came in as her cell mate. She avoided him at first but starts explaining how things goes in the mental institution. As days past, she slowly starts to open up as Adam told him more about himself though Juliette was not that interested. One day, guards came in a she was brought out of her cell and she met Warner. Warner explained his intentions to her and said that her powers were a gift and would be of great help for him. During her days there, Warner used all kinds of methods to get Juliette to surrender and join hands with him. Meanwhile, Adam as one of the guards under Warner came into Juliette’s room and talked to her in the bathroom as there were no cameras. At the point on time I was confused whose side should I root for Adam whose nice to Juliette or the power-hungry Warner who turns out not to be a villain somehow. However, one of the problems I had were the intimacy between Juliette and Adam. Yes, it’s okay if you have a few but the amount of such scenes in the book turned out to be unnecessary in my opinion. Their intimacy was like lovers who were separated for a very long time and finally they were together again and they were afraid to loose each other again.

 

The Characters:

Juliette. Juliette. Juliette. I don’t know how to describe her. Her character has two extremes like hot and cold. One moment she’s on one side of the spectrum the next she’s one the other side. I must say her mood swings are major. She was also impulsive in terms of her actions and such actions were self-destructive as well. For example she kissed Warner so that she can take his gun from his pocket and shoot him so that she can save Adam. Though she hates him to the core, she was still willing to kiss him. And I was like this:

 

Then we have Kenji (sounds Japanese or really a Japanese name) he’s a guy who likes to speaks his mind and hence he’s blunt with his words and most of the time it contains “shit”. I find him an interesting character and I like him more than Adam. There’s also James he reminds me of Russell from Up.  Which I have no idea but that’s my image of him in my mind.

 

And there’s Warner the villain for now. He seems to have problems with his father and it looks like he wants to prove something to his father and for that he needs Juliette. What if all this hunt for Juliette was just some father-son who has too much ego in them  to give in.

The Writing: 

The writing was beautiful however, I find it rather exaggerating as such description was not necessary then. One example when Tahereh Mafi described Juliette’s inability to talk at that moment and expressed in a way saying it felt as if there were cotton balls stuck in my throat. There are times I must say the writing was beautiful and appropriate. Like these two instances:

shatte me_1 

shatter me_2

Yep and the striking out of words/ sentences. It was  very unique and that’s what made me like this book.

 

Rating: 4/5 stars

Would I continue with the series:

Yes, there are so many unanswered questions and one of them is the Reestablishment. Then there is the Omega Point. Is the Omega Point an uprising against the Reestablishment. How did Juliette’s superpowers came about and her immunity to nuclear. And what about the other’s who posses powers like Juliette?

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

