Review: Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea

Review

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Between, #1) Title: Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea (Between #1)

Author: April Genevieve Tucholke

Format: Hardback (Dial| Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads):

 You stop fearing the devil when you’re holding his hand…

 Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White’s sleepy, seaside town… until River West comes  along. River rents the guest house behind Violet’s crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to  happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. 

 Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something  more?

 Violet’s grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-  haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery… who makes you  want to kiss back. 

 Violet’s already so knee-deep in love, she can’t see straight. And that’s just how River likes it.

 Blending faded decadence and the thrilling dread of gothic horror, April Genevieve Tucholke weaves a  dreamy, twisting contemporary romance, as gorgeously told as it is terrifying—a debut to watch.

My Thoughts:

Why did I pick this book:

First of all, I was attracted by its cover which I saw on Goodreads and when I read the blurb, it seems like the kind of book I like to read. Yes I love gothic stuff. I also read the reviews and it seems like a book that I would enjoy and has been pinning to read it until I saw it in the library and I decided to pick it up.

 

The Plot:

Well I must say, it was spooky and gothic and dark. I like it. However, I did not like how things turn out when Brodie (River and Neely’s half brother) came into the picture and the situation was worse than the current one. I felt that the events could be spaced out to allow character to have the opportunity to react to it. Since its going to be a series, I don’t see why is there a need to introduce Brodie to us. I felt that I have yet to know Neely and in came a new character. I felt that it was rather rushed and not properly spaced out. That’s so far the only flaw. The whole paranormal thing really spooked me out. I also like how Violet’s life is somehow linked with her grandmother’s past. With the events happening in town, Violet went to search for her Grandmother’s letters if she left any for Violet to find and she found out that her Grandmother had relations with Jack’s grandfather and also River’s grandfather (if I’m not wrong). I find that whole part really cool and I’m looking forward to more of such stuff in the sequels.

 

The Characters:

The book could have been better if we had stronger characters and I mean Violet and River. No wonder they are perfect match. They simply loose their strength when the other is present. I could not stand it and that is a big no-no. I got tired of them and that hindered my reading. Fine I accept that in the beginning the characters have not grown and the events will help them grow. But no, there isn’t any character development for either of them. Except that they found each other. I guess they did not even have love in their relationship. I guess its infatuation. For both of them. One example is despite River telling lies, she still forgives him. I mean he lied so many times, he’s got a motive up there. She’s just clouded by her own perception of him.

If that’s what you call character development. Then there’s Sunshine. She’s a flashy girl. She practically throws herself at almost any guy she sees.  There’s Luke, Violet’s twin brother. He’s a loose guy, he’s horny and his thoughts were most of the time voiced out. It’s quite sad, they only thing I knew about them at the end (which was obviously stated) that their interest in each other is for real and not to make Violet jealous.  Ughh the characters just fit too perfectly for each other. So we have the weaklings and the loose people. I feel so bad shamming them, but that’s all I read.

 

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

