Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Review

Prodigy (Legend, #2) Title: Prodigy (Legend #2)

Author: Marie Lu

Format: Hardcover ( Putnam Juvenile | Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Blurb (Goodreads):

 Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the  Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who  thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for  help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they  trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Thoughts:

Why did I pick this book:

I read Legend back in 2013 and I really enjoyed it. As I am participating in the 2014 Series Challenge, I want to clear as many unfinished series as possible. I saw it was available in the Library and decided to pick it up.

 

The Plot:

It was much more exciting and thrilling than the first. The first already sort of left me “breathless” the second also did the same to me. In this book, I felt more attached to the characters and my reaction towards their actions and people’s actions towards them was stronger. Like the first, it is written in alternating POVs and im Legend the chapter’s on June’s POV was written in gold and this time, it’s Day’s turn and its in blue. I guess that was what made me want to know what’s going to happen next and increased my reading speed. We learn more about the Patriots and their activities as Day is now working with them. As for June, she learns more about the current Elector who is now Anden (son of deceased Elector). She finds out that Anden was not what she and the people of the Republic imagined him as. It ended with a bittersweet ending and that made me want to read Champion soon.

 

The Characters:

June and Day grew a lot in this installment. Their relationship and trust was also put to the test. When June was working undercover and playing her role in front of Anden, she did not have direct communication with Day at all. As she knows he’s watching her through the cameras, she used signals to hint to Day that Anden is not what they think he is. Also the realization Tess has a crush on Day although in Day’s eyes she’s his sister. That was when I was against how Tess’ actions towards Day and her intentions behind them. Then there’s Anden’s interest in June. This is all going to get pretty tangled I guess in the next book.

 

The Writing:

I really loved Marie Lu’s writing. It was short and sweet. I seldom had to reread lines and that was one of the main reasons I enjoyed reading. I don’t really enjoy books that had me to reread lines as it disrupts the flow of my reading. I’ll be looking forward to Marie Lu’s new series The Young Elites which would be published this year. Can’t wait. I’m fangirling over it now and currently following Marie Lu’s Pinterest board for the book.

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

