Review: Infinite by Jodi Meadows

Review

Infinite (Newsoul, #3)Title: Infinite (Newsoul #3)

Author: Jodi Meadows

Format: Hardcover ( Katherine Tegen Books| Borrowed)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Blurb (Goodreads):

DESTRUCTION
The Year of Souls begins with an earthquake—an alarming rumble from deep within the earth—and it’s only the first of greater dangers to come. The Range caldera is preparing to erupt. Ana knows that as Soul Night approaches, everything near Heart will be at risk.

FLIGHT
Ana’s exile is frightening, but it may also be fortuitous, especially if she can convince her friends to flee Heart and Range with her. They’ll go north, seeking answers and allies to stop Janan’s ascension. And with any luck, the newsouls will be safe from harm’s reach.

CHOICE
The oldsouls might have forgotten the choice they made to give themselves limitless lifetimes, but Ana knows the true cost of reincarnation. What she doesn’t know is whether she’ll have the chance to finish this one sweet life with Sam, especially if she returns to Heart to stop Janan once and for all.

With gorgeous romance and thrilling action, the final book in the Incarnate trilogy offers a brilliant conclusion to the compelling questions of this fascinating world, where one new girl is the key to the lives of millions.

 

My Thoughts:

Why did I pick this book:

I read the first and second book in January this year and I want to finish the series. As I am participating in the 2014 Series Challenge, I want to clear as many unfinished series as possible. I reserved this book from the library as I wanted to read it ASAP as I did not have any reading plans then.

The Plot:

It was the best of all three books as there’s full of action and there were disputes between characters. And most of the time when I was reading I was like this:

 


 

 

 

 

 

I could not wait to see what happens next to the extend that I skipped several lines to find out what happen.

It was very well paced and it was a total roller coaster. Like in the previous book, Ana and Sam fought and they did too in this book and it was much worse which makes the whole atmosphere really tense. I like how Jodi Meadows added the voices of the Sylph and the Dragons into the plot. It was like Ana was the only one who could communicate with them. And that leads me to my first question which went unanswered. Is it because Ana’s a newsoul or is she really the only one who could do so? When it comes to the final book, I’m mostly looking out for closure. Yes it ended well and Janan is no longer in the picture and so is reincarnation. However, we did not go into detail about the year. In the three books there is the Year of Souls and a few others which were mentioned. There was also Soul Night which was not explained. I kind of felt frustrated as I’m pretty sure the different Years had a meaning behind them something like the Chinese zodiac. As this series revolves around Souls, I think Soul Night is a festival that the people of the Heart celebrates and I was hoping for an explanation in the final book. I was kind of disappointed as this played a role in the world building.

The Characters:

I loved the interaction between the characters particularly in this book. I felt that they were more three dimensional in this book especially the non-main ones like Stef and the others. Their involvement in this book was much more instead of the two protagonist. I usually have hate towards antagonists but this time round its extreme. I really hated Janan to the core as he’s someone whose got power all over in his head. There’s not a single bit of humanity or moral in him at all.

The Writing:

I hardly had difficulty reading the book and it was such a breeze. There weren’t too many flowery words used and neither do I come across parts that beat around the bush. I prefer books which cut straight to the point as the suspense is already killing me. By beating about the bush, I would say its torture.

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

 

Leave a Reply

