ARC Review: The Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling

Review

The Diamond ThiefTitle: The Diamond Thief

Author: Sharon Gosling

Format: E-ARC (Capstone Switch Press | Owned)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Blurb (Goodreads):

No one performs on the circus trapeze like 16-year-old Rémy Brunel. But Rémy also leads another life, prowling through the backstreets of Victorian London as a jewel thief. When she is forced to steal one of the world’s most valuable diamonds, she uncovers a world of treachery and fiendish plots.

Meanwhile, young detective Thaddeus Rec is determined to find the jewel and clear his name. Will Thaddeus manage to rescue the jewel? Or is it really Rémy that he needs to save?

 

 

I received this ARC from Netgalley  and this my honest review of it

My Thoughts:

The Plot:

I find it pretty okay but not full enough. I also felt that the length of this stand-alone was a little too short for a mystery book. I expected it to be at least 400 pages long. I did not really have high hopes for this book as I have not read any of Sharon Gosling’s book and it’s an ARC so there are bound to be flaws in it. Overall, it was a light read. I felt that the suspense did not really build up to the point which made me want to know what will happen next. I guess that was the downside of this book. I felt that more events could be added and more discoveries. I felt that the discoveries made were done too easily. That’s not how mystery book normally goes. The characters will first suspect and when they investigate further, they end up with dead-ends. So I guess that was what was lacking in this book.

The Characters:

I felt that they were pretty flat and I did not feel connected to them at all. They are pretty much two-dimensional most of the time throughout the whole book. I did not love or hate them and just felt okay with them. It was more of a meh feeling.

The writing:

I kind of like how Sharon Gosling writes descriptions. They are pretty original and it kind of gave me the ambience of the Victorian era. They matched pretty well and that got me settled into the world pretty quickly.

Please do share with me if you have read the published version of this book if there are improvements to the plot.

Rating: 3/5 stars3 stars

Leave a Reply

