Review: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Review

Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)Title: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Format: Ebook (HarperCollins| Owned)

Find it on: Goodreads | Book Depository

Blurb (Goodreads):

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

 

My Thoughts:

Why did I pick up this book?

I read the first book, Shatter Me earlier in April this year and it was the Book of The Month for one of the Goodreads groups which I was in. And I really enjoyed it. Check out my review of Shatter Me here. Since Unravel Me is on my iPhone, i decided to read it and Tahereh Mafi did not disappoint me.

The Plot:

Shatter Me left us with Adam and Juliette in Omega Point where we learn that the people there are like Juliette with powers. So, Juliette is trying to adjust in the new environment but she’s not doing as well as Adam. Juliette took Kenji’s jokes pretty seriously and I kind of felt Juliette was kind of short-tempered back then. So when Juliette was out on her mission to steal supplies, she had an short encounter with Warner and she just stunned there not knowing that she is exposed. And then Kenji realized what was going on and brought Juliette into hiding. I’m not going to spoil you guys so that’s what happen in the first part of the book. The second part gets even better with plot twists and I just cant seem to put the book down then. Its like every minute is crucial and I have this urging need to know what will happen next and after reading this installment, I’m officially Team Warner.

The Characters:

I love how well the characters played their roles in this book. I really feel connected to everyone of them and it was as if I was looking from their POV. I really like how Kenji woke Juliette from her delusions and I felt what he did was really brave of him. And Juliette did not deny what Kenji said cause deep inside she knows that Kenji was spot on. Juliette and Adam’s relationship was really under pressure and I suddenly they don’t seem as compatible with each other as in the first book. Now it seems that Warner is really the one meant for Juliette.

The writing:

Tahereh Mafi’s writing is just beautiful. I love the words used in Juliette’s diary. Its just too beautiful and soo relateable. How I wish I have one book just containing what Juliette wrote in her diary. Its like the writing is flawless and it did not seem too abrupt and it fir perfectly well with the plot.

Rating: 5/5 stars

5 hearts

Review of previous book(s):

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

